Improving a Mood

I made tea today and I thought this was a cool picture of it. You can just tell it was a hot cup of yumminess. πŸ™‚

tea time

I want anything that is put on my blog to be positive. I believe that if I write in a positive way and only show positive images, then it will affect my own attitude. Writing on my blog definitely feels therapeutic for me so most of this blog post is positive, however this blog post came about out of a negative feeling I was having. Trying to figure out what I want to do with my life while moving back into my parents’ house can be really hard. I currently have friends that live in different parts of the country so the only friends I can look to are the ones I have in my hometown. I do not have as many friends in my hometown as I did when I was in high school, which makes a lot of sense since that is what happens when you move away for college. The friends and acquaintances that I have at home are all working different ‘big people’ jobs or attending school so it isn’t the same as when we were all in high school. Sometimes I will go months without seeing certain friends because they are so busy and to be honest, that really bothers me.

At the moment I am done with my internship and am waiting to start my new job in 2 weeks. I was offered the part-time job that I interviewed for last week. Yay! I am still waiting to hear from the internship I interviewed for. I am the type of person that needs to be busy and I absolutely hate sitting around so I do get a bit bummed when I have no plans for the day. Yesterday, I was really missing two of my best friends from college, Holly and Lauren. I knew if they were living in my hometown, then I would be able to hang out with them more. Fortunately, just being able to text them helps to improve my mood. When I have days where I wish I was busier I always remember two things:

  1. I get to choose what way I want my life to go.
  2. I can’t make people love or want to hang out with me. I can only be myself.

I decided I was not going to sit around the house waiting for life to knock on the door. I leashed up one of my mom’s dogs and headed to the park. My mom has a tiny, five pound yorkie that she rescued when I was eleven. Her name is Lily but she is under the impression that her name is Baby because when we first got her we called her ‘Baby Dog.’ I am not kidding! She only answers to the name Baby. She is a little bit of afraid of people so she minds her own business when she goes for a walk, however people love to comment on how she cute she is and they usually assume she is still a puppy. Our walk immediately improved my mood because nature always makes me happy to look at and it feels good to be around people even if you aren’t talking to them. I saw a man who had baby ducks sitting on his shoe and I met a woman who told me she wanted to buy a dog like Baby. I listened to the music in my ear phones and was able to relax a ton during our walk.

Our view

Our view

Baby Dog

Baby Dog

My mood improved a lot after our walk. I still can’t get over that I live with my parents and that I am a college graduate. My parents are extremely supportive of me and understand that I am trying to become something great, I just don’t know what that is yet. The good thing about me is that I do not sit on the couch thinking what should I do. I always am either in school, working, or doing an internship. I think if I wasn’t working toward finding something that I love, then maybe they wouldn’t be so supportive. How else am I going to find my passion if I do not experience different jobs or internships?

Walk is finished

Walk is finished

Entertaining part of the day

When we finished our walk, I was hungry so I decided to make french toast. I just bought Lavash bread because I heard it is yummy. The great thing about Lavash bread is that it is 70 calories per serving. I grabbed two servings of Lavash bread and tried to create healthy french toast.

Just Starting

Just Starting

My plan was to fold each lavash piece and put strawberry jam and bananas inside so that it sort of looked like a pocket. Unfortunately, when I tried to flip each slice the right one was a bit stuck to the griddle. 😦

Poor guy on the right

Poor guy on the right

Add some syrup!!!

Add some syrup!!!

The toast didn’t really taste that good but I still ate it! I definitely have made better french toast with whole wheat bread. I guess part of growing up includes the trial and error that comes with cooking. Haha. Β I portioned everything as I cooked the french toast since I am trying to eat smaller portions as I mentioned in my last post. I better get going I have some exercise to do. πŸ˜‰ Enjoy Memorial Weekend! I hope to post tomorrow with a cute banner that says Happy Memorial Day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

