Interviews Done!!!! :)

I finished all the interviews that I had for this week! 😉 Surprisingly, I do not get as nervous about interviews as I think I would. I am the type of person that gets nervous, anxious, and worried very easily. My friend likes to say that I turn a mole hill into a mountain very quickly. But when it comes to interviews I just try to walk in just being my awesome self. One major point that I remind myself everytime I walk into an interview is that if I truly make a fool out of myself, then the only person that will know is the interviewer and me. The interviewer isn’t going to write on Facebook or Twitter, “Hey, just to let everyone know Ashley was very awkward in her interview this morning.”

At 22, I have had my fair share of interviews, which defintely helps me through them. The one type of interview I still get extremely nervous about are phone interviews. You would think that something that is not face to face wouldn’t be nerve wracking but it totally is for me. I had to do one for Disney and I was so nervous beforehand I think the grip I had my phone could have crushed the tiny thing. The only thing that helps me get through phone interviews is that I remind myself that if the interview starts to get really bad or I lose the ability to speak then I can always hang up. My mom hates when I say this and to be honest I don’t think I would ever really do that. It is quite rude to hang up on someone unless, of course, it was someone telling me I would get to meet Kate Middleton because then I would probably hang up from being so excited. 🙂

Funny Story

When I was 15 and didn’t have my first job yet, I got a call from my friend telling me that the local baseball field was hiring for the summer so we went to the mall to be interviewed. I was pretty excited about it because if we both got the job, then we would get to spend our summer together working. I wasn’t even nervous for the interview. While waiting in line we ran into school friends and we just chatted during the wait until I was called in. I didn’t even have a resume because I was 15 and had never worked before. When I was called in I gave the interviewer a terrible, flimsy handshake. He then asked how I was and what position I was applying for. He couldn’t really ask me much about past experience so his next question was, “What do you like to do for fun?” For some reason I blanked out at that moment and said, “I like to read and….I don’t know.” That’s right! I said, ‘I don’t know.’ The question he asked me is probably one of the easiest questions to answer. I could list probably a 100 things right now if someone was to ask me that. Guess who didn’t get the job? This lady! But neither did my friend so I wasn’t completely heart broken.

Time to watch the Bacholorette (no judgement please)!  The guys are so cute this season. 🙂

Leave a Reply

